A Good Reminder

I am a lover of Steven Curtis Chapman’s music.  Yep, that’s right.  I don’t care if his stuff is popular, cool, “indie” enough for one to admit liking, but I freakin’ love it.  His old school, new school, any tune.  His music has always touched my heart in the way that only a really great song can.  His songs tell stories, share genuine emotion and the man sure does love his woman.  Have you heard those he wrote after the tragic loss of his six year old daughter?  Raw, real and filled with a hope worth clinging to in the midst of unfathomable loss.  Seriously amazing.

Anyway, he wrote a song that is absolutely a dream for us mommas of young children.  It’s called One Little Heartbeat at a Time and it makes me sob Every.  Single.  Time.  It is what we all want to hear, need to be reminded of, and hope so badly to be as we mother these dear ones.

One Little Heartbeat at a Time, Steven Curtis Chapman

You’re up all night with a screaming baby
You run all day at the speed of life
And every day you feel a little bit less
Like the beautiful woman you are

So you fall into bed when you run out of hours
And you wonder if anything worth doing got done
Oh, maybe you just don’t know
Or maybe you’ve forgotten

You, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time
Making history with every touch and every smile
Oh, you, you may not see it now
But I believe that time will tell
How you, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time

With every “I know you can do it”
Every tear that you kiss away
So many little things that seem to go unnoticed
They’re just like the drops of rain over time
They become a river

And you, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time
Making history with every touch and every smile
Oh, you, you may not see it now
But I believe that time will tell
How you, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time

You’re beautiful
You’re beautiful
How you’re changing the world
You’re changing the world

You, you are changing the world
One little heartbeat at a time
Making history with every touch and every smile
Oh, you, you may not see it now
But I believe that time will tell
How you, you are changing the world
Oh, I believe that you
You are changing the world
One little heartbeat
At a time

And you’re changing the world

 

Um, yah.  How many times have we felt in the midst of the vomit covered, timeout filled, haven’t showered in a week, if I leak milk one more time right after I step out of the shower I may lose my mind days that we are less of who we were before we were moms?  I know that I have.  Less beautiful, less valuable, less cool (though I’m not sure I ever would have fit into that catergory :)).  At the end of the day, our work is valuable.  The moments we spend caring for our children not are NOT a waste, they matter!

So remember on the bad days, and believe me I feel like I’ve been having a never-ending one for the past three days, that what you do makes you more beautiful and what you are creating cannot be measured.  There is no way to place a value on the time and love that we pour into our children.  I hope you’re as encouraged as I have been.  Maybe I’ll put this tune on repeat for the rest of the day.  After all, the baby who is getting about six teeth and had shots this morning is already crying after a 20 minute nap.

3 thoughts on “A Good Reminder

  1. Every time I hear that song, which has been quite often lately, I think of you, Amy. You are this song – changing the world one little heart beat at a time – and I’m so grateful to be up close experiencing it. You are truly an awe-inspiring mom – and wife and friend.

  2. I haven’t heard this yet! How, I don’t know. Must not play it on Air 1. Anyway, love it. Thanks for posting it! I am going to play/read it tomorrow for my moms in our moms group. 🙂 Also, can’t believe I’ve missed so many posts! Love reading what you have to say. 🙂

Leave a Reply

