Deep Thoughts

We’ve all heard the phrase, “A watched pot never boils,” right?  But what about those “unwatched” pots?  Those that evidently do boil?  In my experience, their expression could be, “An unwatched pot boils, burns, spills over and creates a mess that you’ll be able to enjoy/clean for weeks to come.”  This is also true when items go unwatched in the oven.  Let’s just say the creamed spinach I made on Christmas, which erupted in the oven, continues to make itself known each time I use the oven.  (since I cannot seem to remember to clean said oven in between uses).

What is the point of all of this you might ask?  Only that life these days feels a bit like an unwatched pot churning and burning on the stove.  The ingredients, the recipe itself is fabulous, but the execution leaves something to be desired.  My days of pot watching will return, and then I’ll lament the fact that nothing is boiling.  I’m embracing the burnt edges and sticky stovetops because they mean that I’ve got better things to do.  Things like nursing a sweet baby boy, playing “Saint Nicole” with my little girls and occasionally taking showers and pondering when pots may or may not boil.

Leave a Reply

