A Message for YOU, Mr. Sun

Dear Mr. Sunshine.

First of all, let me start by telling you just how much I appreciate you. Not only do you bring warmth to the earth, but your sweet rays of golden goodness seem to be able to turn just about any frown upside down. Your face is the one that I long to see each morning. With your warmth and light comes the chance for small children to cast off coats and other uncomfortable layers of clothing to run freely in a mere shirt and shorts. Oh the freedom you bring sweet big ball of heat. The flowers grow, the snow fades, spring and summer are your fortes, and we would all pretty much be lost without you. And so I say job well done, my friend.

With that said, I do have a slight bone to pick with you. Lately, I have noticed that you have been working overtime. Maybe it’s your excitement at being back in the game after a long winter, or perhaps your eagerness to shower us with sunshine. Whatever the reason, I’m going to give you the permission to tone it down. Take a load off. If you start to feel the urge to come up around 5 a.m., just go back to sleep or give another part of the world just a bit more sunshine. Ooh, you could even find those wintry places on earth and give them a sunny treat surprise! And in the evening, I know you’re tired, so feel free to head to bed at 7:30. No need to shine on way past 8. It isn’t that I don’t like having you around, it’s just that my children also seem to enjoy your presence. So much so that the minute they catch a glimpse of your sunny rays peaking through the teeny tiny gap between the blinds and the window each morning they shoot up in bed ready for the day. And in the evening when I tuck them in bed and turn off the light but the room doesn’t get dark, they seem to think this is an invitation to have a little party. Again it is all out of love for you, but have you heard that you actually can have too much of a good thing?

In closing, let me again say that I by no means want to make you feel unwanted or cause you to hide yourself away. We want you. We need you. Let’s just keep it between the hours of 7 a.m. and 7:30 p.m. ish.

Yours Truly,

Amy

Leave a Reply

