Okay This is Good

A couple of weeks ago while I was watching The Biggest Loser (you know you love it) Jillian Michaels (that crazy combination of scary and hot that both men and women are drawn to) talked about microwaving fruit. That’s right. No this was not a cheesy over the top or blatant product placement type moment, it was her giving us a “tip” on how to get healthy. Any-who the basic advice was to take an apple with some water, throw on a little cinnamon and place the concoction in the microwave for a tasty treat. Well people, I am here to tell you that Miss Michaels is no liar. I am now obsessed with my nightly fruity goodness. After tweaking the amount of water, size of the apple pieces, and adding other fruits I think I have a winning combo. So here it is. And even though I can’t exactly measure up to the same level of scary/hottness that Jillian does, you should still obey me and make this. Mmm k?

Amy and Jillian’s Apple Pear Delight

1/2 a sweet apple
1/2 a pear (ripe, none of that firm/dry/tasteless funny business)
Cinnamon how you like it
Cloves if you dare
3 T water

Dice up the fruit, slices at the biggest but I prefer bite size pieces, and add the water and spices. Give it a quick mix. Put the mixture into a microwave safe bowl with a loose cover. (for me this means using my white Corelle bowl with navy blue stripes on the bottom with a small matching plate across the top). Microwave for 2 1/2 to 3 minutes. Take it out and let it sit for about 15 minutes covered. And there you have it. Sweet, warm and totally guilt free. Enjoy!

One thought on “Okay This is Good

  1. You can also try adding some rolled oats for extra fiber. If you get the consistency right it’s an imitation apple crisp. Delicious!

Leave a Reply

