Princess Party

Who knew that hosting a small princess birthday party for seven little girls, my two included, could be such an exhausting task? Oh you knew that? Okay, well maybe I should have too, but goodness when those little ladies headed out yesterday I wanted to pass out. My girls were of course way too wound up on cake and the excitement of the party and did not go down for naps until close to 3 p.m. Not cool. Luckily I allowed myself to basically pass out as soon as they were both contained in their room. (did I mention that was after I started crying and telling BQ “I’m just so tired?” classic). At any rate, I think it was really fun for the girls and we ended up having a very relaxing night at home.

It could have been the simple stress of planning a party, or doing it with The Doc out of town, but for whatever reason I was really drained yesterday. It has only been 48 hours since my man left and I am already missing him far more than is comfortable. 22 more days to go, people, so I need to get it together. All in all I have come to the conclusion that I am so grateful to have someone to miss. I am completely capable of doing life on my own and of taking care of these girls by myself, but I would much rather do it with that hunk of man beside me. How blessed am I? Marriage can be hard and full of ups and downs, but man am I glad I am doing it with The Doc. At the end of the day he is my little piece of heaven on earth and when he’s gone I am acutely aware of his absence. Thank God. What would that say if I weren’t? I want a marriage that is passionate, engaged, and marked by a deep friendship and I have to think if I didn’t have that, then this distance wouldn’t sting quite so much. So I’m going to embrace “the burn,” and yes cry frequently and be dang grateful that I have such a guy. That I am somebody’s Mrs. and get to wear his name and care for his children. I am proud of who I am as Amy and am by no means defined by this role of being a wife, because it is just one of many that I play, but I am delighted that at the end of the day I have a partner in life. This guy chose to make a go of it with me and for that I am forever grateful. I know it isn’t easy, and some of you might be really struggling in your marriage right now, but hang in there. Just as I am not enjoying this distance, I am grateful for all that I am learning about how much I love my husband through it all and I pray that you will be blessed with something that will teach you and your spouse the same. Hang in there, friends.

To give and receive love in marriage…I can’t think of anything I treasure more.

2 thoughts on “Princess Party

Leave a Reply

