And Then There Were Three

For the last week we have been blessed to have family in town. It is so much fun and definitely a wonderful change for the girls and I. We had a great time hanging out, going on various adventures together, and celebrating Christmas. Even the Doc had 5 days off!! I always feel a bit of a let down after guests leave, which is probably a good thing. Don’t get me wrong, there are times when I can’t wait for visitors to head out and welcome the return of my semi-quiet home again. It’s always hard to find that balance of visit length, isn’t it? You want family to stay long enough to have quality time together, but without everyone driving each other nuts. On this end, that was definitely achieved.

The other thing achieved this Christmas? I managed to completely overeat at every meal. Oh golly, any form of self control was gone and I ate a fabulous variety of treats, meats, and soda. I don’t buy regular soda, or really any diet for that matter, unless we have people in town. Why? Because I LOVE it. Regular soda in all its sugary glory is a little piece of heaven to me. Oh how I love it. And yet the price that my poor belly and thighs pay for my over indulgence is too steep to make it a regular deal. Oh well. Back to drinking exciting things like water and going to the gym.

I will confess that what didn’t happen this year was a completion of the 25 Days of Giving. We managed to pull off about 20, which worked great for our family and I can’t wait to do it again next year. I hope that in the future we can do more activities that allow us to meet and interact with others. I told the girls about who we were making things for, but would like for them to experience it in a more real way. Make sense? At any rate, I am grateful for the suggestion, thanks Train To Crazy, and would love to hear about your experience.

Alas I will end this quite random post. Next up will be my “How We Rocked 2009” post. Stay tuned. (or not). Your call.

One thought on “And Then There Were Three

  1. Inlaws leave today and I’m ready for it to be three! We only did about 15 days of our Advent Calendar, so I’d say 20 days with toddlers rocked! Way to go, lady. Miss you and, yes, I’m staying tuned.

Leave a Reply

