Mimi’s Mac N’ Cheese

Last night I was in the mood for some comfort food. I don’t know about you, but to me nothing says comfort food like homemade mac n’ cheese. When I was pregnant with BQ we were living in Texas where there is a certain restaurant chain called Luby’s. Have you been there? Let’s just say, in the words of the Doc, it is a “no teeth required” cafeteria style, jello flavors of the world representing, drown your sorrows in side dishes kind of place. My entree of choice while with child? Roast beef with a side of mashed potatoes with gravy and mac n’ cheese. Oh the satisfaction of that meal in those days. Definitely the best cure for any first trimester nausea.

Well, I don’t have the excuse of being pregnant anymore, but yesterday was one of those days where a healthy, well balanced meal was not in the cards. Luckily, I had this little recipe card on hand, calling to me, promising to deliver warm, gooey, cheesy goodness at a moment’s notice. The girls call Doc’s mom Mimi and this is her recipe. Luckily Mimi’s husband, Papa, is as passionate about cheese as I am so this recipe does not disappoint. And let’s be honest, how could something that involves pasta, butter, cheese, milk and flour as its main ingredients taste bad.

So here goes my first attempt at being a blogging mom who is crafty and domestic and posts recipes with beautiful pictures of food. I apologize that I forgot to take a pic of the finished product before we had eaten half, but you get the picture. Without further ado, Mimi’s Mac N’ Cheese.

The stuff you need:
1 1/2 cups elbow macaroni
3 T butter (or margarine)
3 T flour
2 cups milk
1/2 tsp salt (or you can just salt to taste)
Dash of pepper (does anyone really know what a dash is?)
2 cups shredded cheese (whichever kind you prefer)

Cook macaroni until tender and drain.

Melt butter in a skillet or pan and blend in flour.

Add milk and stir until thick. (use medium heat and no hotter). Add salt, pepper, and cheese and stir until cheese is melted and mixed in (or insanely gooey and you cannot keep your fingers out of it).

Mix sauce with macaroni. If you want it to be gooey, eat it as is. If you prefer it with a little crispy on top and less gooey, you can bake it at 350 degrees for 45 minutes or so. Either way, it’s amazing!

Hope you enjoy this as much as we do. And thanks for the great recipe Mimi.

Leave a comment