I’ve Seen Better Days…

Oh. My. Goodness. Today. Sucked.

Totally, completely, and thoroughly, SUCKED.

There was whining about 85% of the day. And no, I am not exaggerating. When one stopped, the other began. Molé covered most of the duty pre-nap time and BQ took over post. It was lovely. By about 9 a.m. I had already lost my mind. I even gave myself a time-out because at that point all I wanted to do was have a tantrum of my own. I did have a mild one, and it was glorious. A little yelling, some gesticulating, and I may have thrown a squirty bath toy. Or was it a foam letter? Hmm…

If there were to be a video series featuring “Mothers behaving badly,” or even a “Mothers Gone Wild,” but with us fully dressed because let’s face it if I’m going to go wild, it will definitely not involve bearing my breasts. After nursing two babies the thrill is sort of gone. Anyway, I continue to be shocked at how short my fuse can be, how ridiculously non-existent my patience is, and how terribly three year old like I can truly behave. What the heck?

Do you ever wonder what happened to your fun/easy going side? I do. It’s like aliens have taken up residence in my body and I don’t even recognize myself. I long so much to be the easy going, brush it all off mom and yet I am not. I get so frazzled. I get so fried. And I have days when I cry. Luckily though, in the middle of my breakdown there always seems to be a child walking by with her dad’s shoe on, or one with a mouth full of pink ink who claims she hasn’t been chewing on the markers, or simply a 3 1/2 year old who comes over for a hug. Then, my frustration melts away and I am left with nothing to do but laugh.

I guess that’s really the secret to mothering through. Laughter. The ability to laugh at our kids’ ridiculous tantrums. Laugh at the way our 18 month old can get under our skin. And laugh at our constant need to compare our waistline with that of the hottie mom next door (who probably has a mom who watches her kids daily so she can exercise). If it’s a choice between despair and downright giggles, I’m choosing the giggles.

Have you had a crappy day? Wow, that my friend, is freakin’ hilarious.

8 thoughts on “I’ve Seen Better Days…

  1. I hold on to the fact that His blessings are new every morning…and GREAT is His faithfulness… Hang in there, Mama – you’re doing a great job!

  2. I want to sit on your couch and compare notes. I’ve had a few tantrums since moving and am glad to hear that I am not alone. I agree with Andrea and Heather that tomorrow is a new day and with His help, we have a new beginning. Here’s praying that He will help them not turn into tantruming adults like us. Love ya!

  3. I have never wanted to tell Will to shut up more than I wanted to this morning. It…was…so…hard…not…to. I didn’t but man it was hard. Thank you, God, for keeping my mouth shut and keeping that out of his vocabulary and mind. But man, it was still the overflow of my heart.

  4. Heather, that is one of my favorite scriptures of all time. Thanks for the reminder. Thanks for joining me in the journey as always ladies!

  5. Oh my, do I understand. It seems that just as I wonder where Sweet Pea gets her penchant for tantrums, I throw one of my own. Mine are always bigger, louder, and more offensive than hers. Anyway, we are a work in progress and I am glad we are able to laugh, even if it is sometimes through the tears.

  6. I’m right there with ya, Amy. Today has been a bad day here as well. No one got much sleep last night (storms and sickness) and we are all feeling it. I continually ask God to fill my cup full of patience (and many of the other spiritual gifts as well), because I surely don’t have enough on my own and seem to run out many days. Hang in there, though. You are not alone. And, though it is easier to remember the bad moments of mommyhood, know that there many more good moments. You are an excellent mom.

Leave a Reply

