Mornings

I can sort of remember what life was like in the morning before I had kids. I remember complaining about having to wake up at 7:30 for work, and lamenting that I was still tired after the weekend, even though I had not woken up before at least 9 on either day. Now I’m completely dumbfounded as to what the heck I could have possibly meant. What I wouldn’t give for my pre-kid morning routine! Yesterday I had one of the WORST mornings I’ve had in a long time. It went a little something like this.

From 5 a.m. to 6 a.m. our power decided to go on and off about 3 times. This meant that the girls’ white noise maker did the same. They can sleep without it or with it, but not with it going on and off every 10 minutes. Also, when the power would go back on, the smoke alarm down in the basement would give a nice “woo woo” to let us know that it was in fact back in action. So, needless to say there wasn’t any sleeping going on during that time. (side note, the girls actually did really well and didn’t fuss until the final huge beep at 6. BQ just let out a guttural whine and rolled over. Molé needed a hug and a kiss and then i held my breath hoping she’d go back to sleep). Well, apparently we all fell back asleep and at seven I was startled awake by BQ telling me “it’s at the SSSSEEEEEEEEEEEEVEN!!” They aren’t allowed out of their room until this lovely hour. If you have a child who comes out of her room at ungodly hours but is old enough to know her numbers, I seriously recommend doing this. It’s magic. Anyway, I fell asleep HARD and was not at all ready to wake up. Usually I stir around 6:30 and have some time to drink coffee and, well, not be a grouch. Yesterday, I had no such time and I was not in a good mood. BQ was actually great, coming out without a whine or fuss and settling in to watch some cartoons. Molé on the other hand was ravenous and refused to eat anything I presented. Cheerios, no, milk, no banana, NO. Well, I was in no mood to make eggs at 7:15, so I allowed her to indulge in a full out 15 minute tantrum. As she crawled into my lap exhausted when she had finished hurling her body at the ground and writhing around in utter disdain for me, covered in a snot/tear mixture, she finally relented and accepted both the banana and the O’s. Whew.

About an hour later, around 8:30 or so, I decided that I should probably bathe. Only problem was the girls were very much rocking out on the slide I brought inside and I knew it would be UGLY to pull them away. Let’s just say the two of them completely unsupervised on this particular piece of play equipment could be a recipe for complete disaster. There was no way I could be in the shower knowing they were sliding. BQ, amazingly enough, understood and agreed to leave the slide without problem. Unfortunately I could not fully enjoy her fabulous choice for long, because someone else decided to launch into round two of tantrumville USA. Not cool. More thrashing, more tears, more snot, and lots more drama. I do recall at some point hearing myself say out loud, “I just want to take a shower!!!” In a voice that could only be described as desperate/almost at breaking point decibels. Again we all recovered and I did get to de-funktify myself at last.

After the shower I did make the eggs, which Molé consumed like a ravenous beast, as if the entire banana two cups of O’s and large glass of milk she had eaten an hour before never happened. BQ of course took a small bite and said, “I’m still full from my banana.” Gotta love it.

All this to say, mornings can sometimes be a little taste of hell for me. Being woken up at random hours by little people up in my grill demanding food, beverage, t.v., wiping, entertainment, and wardrobe assistance when all I want to do is crawl into a dark hole somewhere is not cool. And yet is is my daily existence. So I drink lots of coffee and try really hard not to watch reality t.v. until midnight. I guess I shouldn’t expect them to know on Friday mornings that Project Runway is finally on a channel we have, but it doesn’t start until 10, so mommy is not going to be ready to wake up with a smile. But then again, just like anything, I also have to realize that with every choice I make, good or bad, there are consequences that affect my parenting and therefore my girls. And while I might need extra caffeine or another video to get my through, I should never expect my kids to get it or pay for my poor choices. What I’m trying to say, while poorly, is that the kids are always going to be hungry in the morning regardless of how late I was up and resenting them for simply being kids is overrated. I think many times we moms can get together and lament about things (believe me I LOVE a good lament) that are simply part of living with kids. They do things and say things that are going to be annoying. We did things that were really annoying to our parents too. One of my high school friends always used to say, “It’s like living with a six year old.” So true, even though I would change the age to 3. This life is just that- it’s living with a 1 and a 3 year old, even in the morning.

So this morning I was up before the girls, thank God, and able to consume some coffee. I’ve been surprisingly engaged and pleasant with my children, imagine that. If you are struggling with early mornings or the overall ways of children you are not alone. I am right there with you. On the bad days, give yourself some grace, because it happens to all of us. And on the days where there are pancakes, eggs, and all the food groups represented in your child’s breakfast, well hot damn, girl. Take a photo. Above all, hang in there. I’ve heard teenagers like to sleep in, so that’s like a decade away…

4 thoughts on “Mornings

  1. Oh my, do I get it!! How is it that one of the kids can always tell you are, ahem, not at your best? I don’t get it. Anyway, I’m so glad this is a better morning. I know you are an awesome mom. I don’t know how you do it all. I watch in awe (unfortunately, from a very large distance). Have a fun day!

  2. have i told you lately that i love your blog? well i guess actually yes i have, since i gave you a little ‘blog award’ over at my blog! but i can’t say it too much… i love it. keep it comin.

    and to respond specifically to this post: WORD, MY SISTA.

  3. I’m glad to hear I’m not the only one staying up watching tv too late (while eating snacks that I do not have to share). And my least favorite part of the day is morning until breakfast is done. I have no idea why.

  4. I’m hear with you, sister! Though both girls have been sleeping good until the more reasonable 7:00 am hour lately, the last two nights Adah has been up at 5:20 am. Yep, you heard me right. This is very painful, as was the morning whining that followed. I too dream of days long into the future when I am begging my children to get out of bed and enjoy the day. Now, off to get myself an afternoon coffee treat!

Leave a Reply

