These Are Days…

IMG_2871

If this phrase has caused you to now have a certain 10,000 Maniacs song in your head on repeat, I apologize. Well, only sort of, because it’s actually a pretty great song. But, I had to comment that as much as these days with toddlers/preschoolers/babies are wicked hard, they are also pretty freakin’ fabulous.

Yesterday my hubby was able to get out off work early and was home by the time the girls woke up from their naps. Heaven. For those of us who have spouses who do not get weekends off, the ability to have almost half of a Sunday together is pretty much spectacular. Since we had the window of time, we decided to do something. We headed to dinner, which let’s face it, is really a crap shoot. You never know what’s going to happen. BQ is at a great age for eating out, but Molé…is anyone’s guess. Luckily, we had perfect timing and ordered the perfect things because it was bliss. BLISS I tell you! We sat at the table for almost an hour, everyone ate without being rushed, and we did not leave with a flaming case of indigestion from slamming down our food in order to go chase a toddler outside. Since all had gone well and it was still only 6:30 (part of why the dinner outing went so well, since the earlier the better with these little ones) we decided to go for a stroll down the road to work off said meal and take a stroll through Target to get some bread and shampoo. I know, it is a glamorous life. The best part was putting BQ up on my shoulders, and my sweet hubby had Molé on his, as we walked on over. The girls were giggling, there wasn’t any kid wrangling or children attempting to run into the street. Everyone was contained and happy. Daddy gave them a rocking ride in the groovy double cart at Target (thank God for those) and I was even able to stroll the aisles like a free woman. The walk back played out the same way, as we switched kids and shoulders and strolled back. Heaven.

So, here I am acknowledging a great day. Building an altar to remember that yes, the good really does outweigh the bad and that in the midst of the insanity, there is joy. And Miss Natalie Merchant, sing on girl. I hope to be rocking your sweet sounds in my head all day. (at least until someone poops on me or decides to whine that is). Whatever. I love my family.

Leave a Reply

