Frugality Round Two

Whew!  Who knew this topic would spark such a debate- I’m LOVIN’ IT!  The conversation has definitely taken twists and turns that I hadn’t expected or even thought about.  I also want to say that I really appreciate you guys respecting each other’s comments and thoughts.  I definitely haven’t felt like people were under attack or being put down because of their opinions.  So, bravo my peeps!!

I must say I’m relieved to see that most people tend to agree about the concept of “relative” poverty.  REALLY RELIEVED.  I did want to clarify one thing, though, because I find the discussion seems to be focused on the US for the most part.  When I say global, I really mean global.  When I say “global pot” I am literally meaning from those ridiculous kids on “The Hills” to the children living in the garbage dump in Tegucigalpa.  Every nation, every city, every person.  And, because of the lopsided distribution of wealth throughout the world I am eager to think of ways in which that can be changed.  This is where I would like to invite us to go next in our discussion.  How do we, in a world that is so broken, begin to bring about justice and change to ALL.  How can we as individuals do little things each and every day to impact our communities, our cities, states, country and the world?  

I really appreciate the comments on the issues in our country, because there are many, many, many.  And, it’s much easier to point fingers and criticize a system in which we have much more control and choice.  We act entitled because in many ways we are allowed to without consequence.  Accountability…does that exist?  But, let’s try to keep that on the back burner, or continue that discussion on the previous blog comment page. Sound good?

What we have to do, especially those of us who claim to follow Jesus, is to realize that we are accountable.  Every penny, every resource we have is meant to be used for a purpose.  What are our priorities?  God is clear about his so why do we act like there’s a lot of gray area?  (and by His priorities I mean caring for the poor, fighting for justice, and remembering the forgotten without preference or favoritism)  Why do we live like giving and caring for those in need is an option when it clearly is not!?

So, let’s brainstorm together and not have this simply be a discussion.  Tell me changes that you are making in your life.  I have a few ideas I’m throwing around in my head and I’m planning on posting them in a couple of days.  Think along with me, some concrete things you can do now to have an impact and help change lives.

Again, thanks for entering the discussion and joining the journey!

4 thoughts on “Frugality Round Two

  1. Okay, I may be backtracking a bit, but I feel like pastoring as a side-job has been advocated here, and I do believe wholeheartedly it is a worthy goal to financially support those who shepherd us. I think that’s clearly God’s model from the OT to the New. I know that’s not always possible, as it was not always possible with the apostle Paul, but he clearly mentioned that that was the goal.

    Now, if your problem is just that some pastors are rolling in the dough, I agree with you there.

    As to the question in this post, I think my lack of day-to-day encounters with real poverty does not help my pitiful level of concern with the truly poor. It’s no excuse. None, whatsoever. But I think a contributing factor.

  2. I really agree with the above. I think that part of the reason that it is harder to live and speak in a way that honors those with less is the lack of exposure we have to those very individuals.

    I also think that this contributes to the fact that the more we have, the less we tend to give (relatively). When we have more and are able to buy a home in a ‘better’ area, buy a car and drive around without exposure to other people, our world shrinks – and we don’t encounter those that would benefit from our giving.

    It suggests to me that deciding to live in a different area (even if we may feel less ‘comfortable’), using public transportation or walking (again, less comfortable and less convenient) not only will help us to save money – enabling us to have more to give – but also helps us have daily encounters with those who could benefit.

    I am always disappointed in my ability to forget anything and anyone outside of my daily routine – especially outside of the country. To me, a solution to both (besides being a bit more deliberate about it) is changing the daily routine to enable these reminders and interactions more. This can mean moving, getting rid of a car, *regularly* finding opportunities to serve locally, making sure we take trips globally (either by plane or at least reading/learning) .

    I don’t do a good enough job of this – so I will try to let this sink in as well – but I think that if we are to live in ways that reflect an understanding of the world we need to regularly remind ourself of the fact that we are part of a 1%, with a responsibility to the 99%.

Leave a Reply

