Insane in the membrane, woo

Oh, the joys of motherhood.  It’s all giggles, smiles, fun, and snuggles, right?  Funny, I didn’t get the memo about the sleepless nights, temper tantrums, attitude, food throwing, gag inducing vomiting, foul smelling, stress producing, and temper flaring moments that would mark the other 85% of the day!

Before I became a mom, I was pretty sure that I wanted to go pro.  (you know, my way of saying “stay at home mom”).  I just couldn’t understand why anyone wouldn’t want to do the same.  Well, I’m an actual mom now and I get it!  It’s trying, exhausting, humiliating and completely draining.  I am NOT saying that it doesn’t have just as many wonderful things, because it does.  But, this is a blog and I’m in the mood to complain.  So, you’re not going to get a “balanced” view this time.

BQ is now 3, right.  You’ve heard of the terrible twos, but my goodness, what about the thoroughly terrible/trying/tortuous/tiring threes!!!  Oh by gosh, by golly.  I didn’t believe people when they told me that the threes were worse than the twos, but they were right!  The increase in attitude ,defiance, and well, intelligence is hard to manage at times.  She cannot be fooled and is even more set in her ways than before.  I didn’t know that was possible.  Every day is a battle and sometimes I wonder how either one of us will survive!!  I am SO frazzled and exhausted at the end of the day.

I’m sure personality has a lot to do with it all.  I am very stubborn.  My child is very stubborn.  I am the mom that disciplines her kids when other parents think it isn’t a big deal.  I just don’t let her do whatever she wants.  It isn’t how I’m wired.  So, I know that in some ways right now that means that I have more conflict with her than my friends who simply give their kids whatever they want.  But, in the end, I know the investment will be worth it.  

Alas, I think I’m completely derailing.  Forgive the intense rant.  It’s just where I am.

Love my BQ.  Wouldn’t trade her for all the mild mannered little girls in the world.  But, whew, I’m tired.

2 thoughts on “Insane in the membrane, woo

  1. I feel exactly the same way right now. My Sweet Pea is driving me crazy right now. Since I am also one who disciplines and has a stubborn kiddo, I can totally relate. Three is so draining. I dear friend told me her daughter (also stubborn and smart – like her mother) woke up on her fourth birthday and decided to be human, her words and not mine. I am praying for that same thing. Too bad that is not for another 10 months. Anyway, I digress. Hang in there, I’m with you.

Leave a Reply

